Final Thoughts

Wow has the semester ever flown by! It’s hard to believe that its almost Christmas time and we are now writing our last blog post for SMET class. It’s time to do a little reflecting now on our thoughts about social media now that we’ve completed the Social Media and Emerging Technologies course and explain whether or not these views of ours have changed.

When I wrote my first blog on social media, there was a lot of statistics and facts throughout it. Over the duration of this semester I have come to realize that there is so much more to social media than how much time people spend on the internet. Social media involved advertisements for businesses, communication for people all over the world or people in different rooms of a house, it includes hundreds of different websites; Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Tumblr are just a couple that come to mind.

I had never used or even heard of so many different social media sites or tools that are out there to benefit us and the success of companies. I also never knew how much of an impact the social media aspect has on a business. It is very serious if a mistake is made and the wrong tweet or picture is sent out into the social world, it could ruin a business or person. The problem with all of this is, even if something is only out there for a second… once it has been sent, it is out there forever, there is no taking it back. The particular stories we looked into in class really stood out to me.

As I’m moving forward I’m going to always keep in mind all of the information I have learnt in this class to ensure that I am never in a position where social media is not working to my benefit. When you use social media to its full potential and in the right ways, it can really work in your favour, whether you are trying to promote something or trying to get a job. I have learned so many different things from this course and I am sad to know its over!

Leave a Reply

